Mauritania 1975-JUN-02 - -   


Islamic Republic of Mauritania : IRM

Islamic Republic of Mauritania : IRM

Flag or Logo since 1959-03-22
Al-Jumhūriyyah al-Islāmiyyah al-MŪRĪTĀNIYYAH : الجمهورية الإسلامية الموريتانية (ar) + République islamique de MAURITANIE (fr) UNO Member
Emblem or Symbol

President Moktar Ould Daddah
(ruler of MAURITANIA since 1958-11-28)
Capitals & administrative places: Nouakchott
Official & national languages: Arabic (ar) . French (fr) .


MAURITANIA Islamic Republic of Mauritania : IRM  (Nouakchott)

13 Divisions:

ADRER ADRAR Province  (Atar)Local: Wilayat ADARAR : ولاية آدرار (ar) + Province de l´ADRAR (fr)  (Atar)
ASSABA ASSABA Province  (Kiffa)Local: Wilaya EL-´AÇABA : ولاية العصابة (ar) + Province de l´ASSABA (fr)  (Kîfa)
BRAKNA BRAKNA Province  (Aleg)Local: Wilayat AL-BRAKNA : ولاية البراكنة (ar) + Province de BRAKNA (fr)  (Aleg)
EASTERN HODH EASTERN HODH Province  (Nema)Local: Wilayah EL-HODH ECH-CHARGUI : ولاية الحوض الشرقي (ar) + Province du HODH ECH CHARGUI (fr)  (Néma)
GORGOL GORGOL Province  (Kaedi)Local: Wilayah KARKUL : ولاية كركول (ar) + Province du GORGOL (fr)  (Kaédi)
GUIDIMAKA GUIDIMAKA Province  (Selibaby)Local: Wilayah GUIDIMAKHA : ولاية كيدي ماغة (ar) + Province de GUIDIMAKA (fr)  (Sélibabi)
INCHIRI INCHIRI Province  (Akjoujt)Local: Wilayah INCHIRI : ولاية إينشيري (ar) + Province d´INCHIRI (fr)  (Akjoujt)
LEVRIER BAY LEVRIER BAY Province  (Nouadhibou)Local: Wilayah KHALIJ KALAB : ولاية خليج كلب (ar) + Province de la BAIE DU LÉVRIER (fr)  (Nuwâdhibu)
NOUAKCHOTT NOUAKCHOTT Province  (Nouakchott)Local: Wilayah NUWAKSHUT : ولاية نواكشوط (ar) + Province de NOUAKCHOTT (fr)  (Nuwakshut)
TAGANT TAGANT Province  (Tijikja)Local: Wilayat TAGANT : ولاية تكانت (ar) + Province de TAGANT (fr)  (Tidjikdja)
TIRIS ZEMMUR TIRIS ZEMMUR Province  (Fderick)Local: Wilayah TIRIS ZUMUR : ولاية تيرس زمور (ar) + Province du TIRIS ZEMMOUR (fr)  (F´dérik)
TRARZA TRARZA Province  (Rosso)Local: Wilayat AT-TARARIZA : ولاية الترارزة (ar) + Province de TRARZA (fr)  (Rosso)
WESTERN HODH WESTERN HODH Province  (Aiun El-Atruss)Local: Wilayah EL-HODH EL-GHARBI : ولاية الحوض الغربي (ar) + Province du HODH EL GHARBI (fr)  (Aïoun El-Atrouss)

1 Government or Movement in Exile

POLISARIO Popular Front for the Liberation of Sagua El-Hamra and Rio de Oro : POLISARIO  (Zouerat x) El Wali Mustafa Sayed

42 Organisations or Groupings membership (selective)

AFRICAN BANK African Development Bank : AFDB  (Abidjan)
AFRICAN NATURE African Convention on the Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources : CONVENTION ON CONSERVATION  (Algiers)
AFRICAN UNITY Organization of African Unity : OAU  (Addis Ababa)
AMOIP African and Malgache Office of Industrial Propriety : AMOIP  (Yaounde)
ARAB LEAGUE League of Arab States : ARAB LEAGUE  (Cairo)
ARAB UNITY Council of Arab Economic Unity : CAEU  (Cairo)
ASECNA Agency for the Safety of Air Navigation in Africa and Madagascar : ASECNA  (Dakar)
BRAZZAVILLE GROUP BRAZZAVILLE GROUP of French-Speaking States  (Brazzaville)
CILSS Permanent Interstate Committee for Drought Control in the Sahel : CILSS  (Ouagadougou o)
COMMON FUND Common Fund for Commodities : CFC  (Geneva)
FAO Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations : FAO Specialized Agency  (Rome)
FIFA Federation of International Football Association : FIFA  (Zurich)
GATT General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade : GATT  (Villa Bocage)
GROUP OF SEVENTY-SEVEN Coalition of Developing Countries : GROUP OF SEVENTY-SEVEN  (Manila)
IBRD International Bank for Reconstruction and Development : IBRD  (Washington-District of Columbia)
ICAO International Civil Aviation Organization : ICAO Specialized Agency  (Montreal)
ICJ International Court of Justice : ICJ  (The Hague)
ILO International Labour Organization : ILO Specialized Agency  (Geneva)
IMCO Inter-Governmental Maritime Consultative Organization : IMCO Specialized Agency  (London)
IMF International Monetary Fund : IMF Specialized Agency  (Washington-District of Columbia)
INTELSAT International Telecommunications Satellite Organization : INTELSAT  (Washington-District of Columbia)
INTER-PARLIAMENTARY UNION Inter-Parliamentary Union : IPU  (Geneva)
INTERPOL International Criminal Police Organization : ICPO  (Saint Cloud)
ISLAM Organization of the Islamic Conference : OIC  (Jedda)
ISLAMIC BANK Islamic Development Bank : IDB  (Jedda)
ITU International Telecommunication Union : ITU Specialized Agency  (Geneva)
LEAGUE OF RED CROSS League of Red Cross Societies : LORCS  (Geneva)
NON-ALIGNED Non-Aligned Movement : NAM  (Algiers + New York)
RED CROSS International Committee of the Red Cross : ICRC  (Geneva)
UNCTAD United Nations Conference on Trade and Development : UNCTAD  (Geneva)
UNDP United Nations Development Programme : UNDP Specialized Agency  (New York)
UNEP United Nations Environmental Programme : UNEP Specialized Agency  (Nairobi)
UNESCO United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization : UNESCO Specialized Agency  (Paris)
UNHCR United Nations High Commission for Refugees : UNHCR Agency  (Geneva)
UNICEF United Nations International Children´s Emergency Fund : UNICEF Specialized Agency  (New York)
UNITED NATIONS United Nations Organization : UNO  (New York)
UPU Universal Postal Union : UPU Specialized Agency  (Berne)
WEST AFRICAN STATES Economic Community of West African States : ECOWAS  (Lagos)
WFP World Food Programme : WFP  (Rome)
WHO World Health Organization : WHO Specialized Agency  (Pregny-Chambesy)
WMO World Meteorological Organization : WMO Specialized Agency  (Geneva)

 Drawn with Inkscape  Written with Notepad++  Powered by Apache Creative Commons License CC-BY Archived since 2003 by Internet Archives
Thank you.
UPDATED ON: ~ 2024-JUN-09 ~ .