.. or choose a geo zone >> WORLD Africa AmNorth AmSouth Antarctica Asia Europe Oceania

Republic of ALBANIA

Republic of ALBANIA

Flag or logo since 1992-04-07
Republika e SHQIPËRISË (sq)
Emblem or Symbol

President Ilir Meta
(ruler of ALBANIA since 2017-07-24)
Official languages:()
Official relgions:()


ALBANIA Republic of ALBANIA  (Tirana)

12 Metropolitan Divisions:

BERAT BERAT County  (Berat)Local: Qarku i BERATIT (sq)  (Berat)
DIBAR DIBAR County  (Peshkopi)Local: Qarku i DIBRËS (sq)  (Peshkopi)
DURRES DURRES County  (Durres)Local: Qarku i DURRËSIT (sq)  (Durrësi)
ELBASAN ELBASAN County  (Elbasan)Local: Qarku i ELBASANIT (sq)  (Elbasan)
FIER FIER County  (Fier)Local: Qarku i FIERIT (sq)  (Fier)
GJIROKASTRA GJIROKASTRA County  (Gjirokastra)Local: Qarku i GJIROKASTRËS (sq)  (Gjirokastër)
KORITZA KORITZA County  (Koritza)Local: Qarku i KORÇËS (sq)  (Korçë)
KUKES KUKES County  (Kukes)Local: Qarku i KUKËSIT (sq)  (Kukësi)
LEZHA LEZHA County  (Lezha)Local: Qarku i LEZHËS (sq)  (Lezhë)
SHKODRA SHKODRA County  (Shkodra)Local: Qarku i SHKODRËS (sq)  (Shkodër)
TIRANA TIRANA County  (Tirana)Local: Qarku i TIRANËS (sq)  (Tiranë)
VLORA VLORA County  (Vlora)Local: Qarku i VLORËS (sq)  (Vlorë)

1 Condominium, co-administered or disputed territory in Europe:

PASHALIMAN PASHALIMAN Naval Base  (Pashaliman)Local: PASHALIMAN Baza e Kantierit (sq) + LIMAN PAŞA Baz (tr) + VLORA Naval Shipyard (en)  (Pashaliman)

Other notable Territory in Europe:

NORTHERN EPIRUS Democratic Union of the Greek Ethnic Minority in Albania : OMONIA  (Dervician)Local: Di̱mokratikí̱ Éno̱si̱ ti̱s Elli̱nikí̱s Ethnikí̱s Meionóti̱tas sti̱n Alvanía : OMONOIA - Δημοκρατική Ένωση της Ελληνικής Εθνικής Μειονότητας στην Αλβανία : OMONOIA (el) + Bashkimi Demokratik i Minoritetit Etnik Grek në Shqipëri : OMONOIA (sq)  (Derviçan)

74 Organizations (or Groupings) of membership (selective)

BLACK SEA Organization of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation : BSEC  (Istambul)
BLACK SEA BANK Black Sea Trade and Development Bank : BSTDB  (Thessalonica)
CEFTA Central European Free Trade Agreement : CEFTA  (Brussels)
CENTRAL BANK Bank for International Settlements : BIS  (Basle)
CENTRAL EUROPE Central European Initiative : CEI  (Trieste)
CHEMICAL WEAPONS PROHIBITION Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons : OPCW  (The Hague)
CUSTOMS World Customs Organization : WCO  (Brussels)
EAST-WEST Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe : OSCE  (Vienna)
ENERGY International Energy Charter : IEC  (Woluwe-Saint Lambert)
EUROCONTROL European Organisation for the Safety of Air Navigation : EUROCONTROL  (Brussels-Haren)
EUROPE Council of Europe : CE  (Strasbourg)
EUROPEAN BANK European Bank for Reconstruction and Development : EBRD  (London)
EUROPEAN ENERGY Energy Community : EC  (Vienna)
EUROPEAN PATENT European Patent Organisation : EPORG  (Munich)
FAO Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations : FAO Specialized Agency  (Rome)
FRANCOPHONIE International Organization of The Francophonie : OIF  (Paris)
GLOBAL FUND The Global Fund to Fight Aids Tuberculosis and Malaria : GFATM  (Vernier-Geneva)
HAGUE CONFERENCE Hague Conference on Private International Law : HCCH  (The Hague)
HAGUE CONVENTION Permanent Court of Arbitration : PCA  (The Hague)
IAEA International Atomic Energy Agency : IAEA Specialized Agency  (Vienna)
IBRD International Bank for Reconstruction and Development : IBRD  (Washington-District of Columbia)
ICAO International Civil Aviation Organization : ICAO Specialized Agency  (Montreal)
ICJ International Court of Justice : ICJ  (The Hague)
IFAD International Fund for Agricultural Development : IFAD Specialized Agency  (Rome)
ILO International Labour Organization : ILO Specialized Agency  (Geneva)
IMF International Monetary Fund : IMF Specialized Agency  (Washington-District of Columbia)
IMO International Maritime Organization : IMO Specialized Agency  (London)
INTER-PARLIAMENTARY UNION Inter-Parliamentary Union : IPU  (Grand Saconnex)
INTERNATIONAL CRIMINAL COURT International Criminal Court : ICCT  (The Hague)
INTERPOL International Criminal Police Organization : ICPO  (Lyons)
IOM International Organization for Migration : IOM Specialized Agency  (Geneva)
IRENA International Renewable Energy Agency : IRENA  (Masdar City)
ISLAM Organization of Islamic Cooperation : OIC  (Jeddah)
ISLAMIC BANK Islamic Development Bank : IDB  (Jeddah)
ITU International Telecommunication Union : ITU Specialized Agency  (Geneva)
MEDITERRANEAN Parliamentary Assembly of the Mediterranean : PAM  (Saint Julian''s)
MEDITERRANEAN UNION Union for the Mediterranean : UFM  (Barcelona)
NORTH ATLANTIC North Atlantic Treaty Organization Parliamentary Assembly : NATO-PA  (Brussels)
NORTH ATLANTIC ALLIANCE North Atlantic Treaty Organization : NATO  (Brussels)
NUCLEAR NON-PROLIFERATION Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty : NPT  (New York City)
NUCLEAR TEST BAN Provisional Secretariat of the Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Organization : CTBTO  (Vienna)
OHCHR Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights : OHCHR Specialized Agency  (Geneva)
OLYMPIC GAMES International Olympic Committee : IOC  (Lausanne)
PANEUROPA International Paneuropean Union : IPU  (Vienna)
RED CROSS International Committee of the Red Cross : ICRC  (Geneva)
RED CROSS AND RED CRESCENT International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies : IFRCS  (Geneva)
SEABED Secretariat of the International Seabed Authority : ISA  (Kingston)
SEECP Southeast European Cooperation Process : SEECP  (Skopje)
SOUTH EASTERN EUROPE Regional Cooperation Council : RCC  (Sarajevo)
SOUTHEAST EUROPE Southeast European Cooperative Initiative : SECI  (Bucharest)
STANDARDIZATION International Organization for Standardization : ISO  (Geneva)
TRIBUNAL OF THE SEA International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea : ITLOS  (Hamburg)
UN-HABITAT United Nations Human Settlements Programme : UN-HABITAT Specialized Agency  (Nairobi)
UNCTAD United Nations Conference on Trade and Development : UNCTAD  (Geneva)
UNDP United Nations Development Programme : UNDP Specialized Agency  (New York City)
UNEP United Nations Environmental Programme : UNEP Specialized Agency  (Nairobi)
UNESCO United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization : UNESCO Specialized Agency  (Paris)
UNFCCC United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change : UNFCCC  (New York City)
UNHCR United Nations High Commission for Refugees : UNHCR Agency  (Geneva)
UNICEF United Nations International Children''s Emergency Fund : UNICEF Specialized Agency  (New York City)
UNIDO United Nations Industrial Development Organization : UNIDO Specialized Agency  (Vienna)
UNITED NATIONS United Nations Organization : UNO  (New York City)
UNODC United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime : UNODC Agency  (Vienna)
UNOOSA Treaty on Principles Governing the Activities of States in the Exploration and Use of Outer Space including the Moon and Other Celestial Bodies : OUTER SPACE Treaty  (Vienna)
UNWTO World Tourism Organization : UNWTO Specialized Agency  (Madrid)
UPEACE University for Peace : UPEACE  (Ciudad Colon)
UPU Universal Postal Union : UPU Specialized Agency  (Berne)
WFP World Food Programme : WFP  (Rome)
WHO World Health Organization : WHO Specialized Agency  (Geneva)
WIPO World Intellectual Property Organization : WIPO Specialized Agency  (Geneva)
WMO World Meteorological Organization : WMO Specialized Agency  (Geneva)
WORLD TRADE World Trade Organization : WTO  (Geneva)

Other Current Territories within the 2018's internationaly recognized Country boundaries (listed below in grey, it may contain errors)

PASHALIMAN PASHALIMAN Naval Base  (Pashaliman)

 The Big Ben Century Creative Commons License Licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License